My Favourite Things

“Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things”

Although I’ve loved that song since the first time I heard Maria sing it I don’t really relate to any her favourite things, well, maybe the crisp apple strudels.

But if I were to write my own version of the song what would I list?

Well, one of my favourite things to do when I arrive in a new town or city is to visit the local markets, specially the fresh produce ones. They answer so many questions and can be so colourful!!

Trying out new fruits.

The sight of my packed bag just waiting for me to pick it up and go on the next adventure.

Finally arriving at your destination after a long trip.

A call from my best friend.

Spending a day (or 2 or 3…) dosing of in the sun at a beautiful beach.

Watching a beautiful sunset.

Finding a comfortable spot to curl down with my book.

Not having to put on an alarm for the next morning.

That moment when you meet a random person on a bus or hostel or restaurant or whatever and instantly know they will make what Yoshke so beautifully called 5 hour friendships. (Yoshke himself was one of my 5 hour friends)

Those little random events that make your day. E.g. After months of going without it, finding your favourite tea (rooibos) at the oddest of places (a hostel in Beijing).

Ok, so I don’t know how to take any of the above and transform it into song… I guess I’ll just have to keep on singing about raindrops and whiskers on kittens!

What are your favourite things?

5 thoughts on “My Favourite Things

  1. Challenge Accepted.
    Now sing it.

    Budgeting on travel and arriving on marvel
    Explore a new town and eating bread brown
    Trying new fruits while with my old boots
    These are a few of my favorite things.

    Taking pictures of colors and dollars
    Unpack my bag with no one to nag
    Ring from my bestie like crisp apple strudels
    Spending a day tied up in a long beach
    These a few of my favorite things

    When the phone rings and I don’t pick
    And the sunset makes me undead
    And a book in a tree makes me run like a bee
    These a few of my favorite things

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

